Are you sure you want to deactivate your account?

How to watch the FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 on live streaming

How to watch the FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 on live streaming

The FIFA World Cup 2018 is just around the corner, but before that, you can see the champions of each Football Confederation compete amongst each other.

If you don't know what to watch on television in the next few days, we suggest the FIFA Confederations Cup 2017. Why bother to watch a between-competition event? Because any excuse is a good excuse when you can watch Cristiano Ronaldo and Alexis Sanchez do battle on the field or see Germany playing.

If you love football, these names aren't unknown and their quality is unquestionable. Cristiano Ronaldo is notching up records, step-by-step, and this year he became the UEFA Champions League all-time top goal scorer, with 105 goals. We don't have any doubt that Cristiano Ronaldo is one of the best players in the world.

Alexis Sanchez won the Golden Ball of the Copa America Centenario. A respected striker in the Premier League, and a world class player, he has an excellent technical ability, agility, flair and acceleration, which has made him one of the most feared strikers of this competition.

Germany doesn't need any introduction: it's the World Champion. Or to be precise: it's four times World Champion (1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014) and three times European Champion (1972, 1980 and 1996). Germany’s team is one of the most successful national sides in international competitions.

What is the FIFA Confederations Cup?

The FIFA Confederations Cup is a tournament where the champions of each of the six international football associations (UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC), along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, compete for one more trophy.

It all began in late 1992 when Saudi Arabia decided to organize an international competition where the champions of each Confederation were invited. This proto-FIFA Confederations Cup was entitled the King Fahd Cup and there was only one more competition with this name.

In 1997, FIFA took over the organization of this cup and renamed it the FIFA Confederations Cup. Retroactively, the King Fahd Cup was recognized as a Confederations Cup competition.

Since then, it has been played every two years, until 2005. From this year the format changed to every four years, one year before the FIFA World Cup and is hosted in the same country as the World Cup is to be held (like a test for the organization and for FIFA).

Fixtures and schedules

In the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup, there are eight national teams battling for the trophy, divided into two groups:

Group A Group B
Russia (Host) Cameroon (Confédération Africaine de Football)
New Zealand (Oceania Football Confederation) Chile (Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol)
Portugal (Union of European Football Associations) Australia (Asian Football Confederation)
Mexico (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) Germany (World Cup Champions

The fixtures list is:

Group A:

Date Match Time (local / BST)
Jun 17 Russia vs New Zealand 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 18 Portugal vs Mexico 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 21 Russia vs Portugal 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 21 Mexico vs New Zealand 21:00 / 19:00
Jun 24 Mexico vs Russia 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 24 New Zealand vs Portugal 18:00 / 16:00

Group B:

Date Match Time (local / BST)
Jun 18 Cameroon vs Chile 21:00 / 19:00
Jun 19 Australia vs Germany 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 22 Cameroon vs Australia 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 22 Germany vs Chile 21:00 / 19:00
Jun 23 Germany vs Cameroon 18:00 / 16:00
Jun 23 Chile vs Australia 18:00 / 16:00


Date Match Time (local / BST)
Jun 28 Winner Group A vs Runner-up Group B 21:00 / 19:00
Jun 29 Winner Group B vs Runner-up Group A 21:00 / 19:00

Third-place play-off:

Date Match Time (local / BST)
Jul 2 Loser Semi-Final 1 vs Loser Semi-Final 2 15:00 / 13:00


Date Match Time (local / BST)
Jul 2 Winner Semi-Final 1 vs Winner Semi-Final 2 21:00 / 19:00

Where can I watch FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 via streaming?

While in Russia you can watch on 2SPORT2 media platforms, in New Zealand you can watch on the SKY GO NZ app, and in Australia on Optus Sport's apps.

In Portugal, you can watch via the RTP Play app, and in Germany ARD and ZDF will be the service providers. Viewers in Mexico will have more than one option: TDN, UnivisionTDN, SKY Planeta Fútbol and Sky HD. In Chile and the other South American countries, you can download the DirecTV Play app and watch all the games.

In Cameroon and the rest of Sub-Saharan Africa, you can watch in full on SuperSport and StarTimes platforms (except in South Africa, due to copyright reasons).

In the USA, you can watch on the following apps: FOX Sports GO, fubo Premier, and Telemundo Deportes En Vivo. In Canada, both English and French speakers can watch on RDS and TSN platforms. In the UK, you can also watch if you have ITV Player.

Lastly, in the MENA region you can watch all the games on BeIN Sports apps, and in India Sony Pictures Networks has acquired the license.